The overall and Pro championship was already been won by Sonny Kanchin going into the final race at Interlagos. But there was one more thing on Kanchin’s mind in this race. He could take the record of most wins in one season. With already 9 out of 11 he could take 10 out of 12 race wins this season. But his closest contender true the whole season Eroõ Nomm was not going to give that one away easily!

There was one more championship to decide. The AM championship was very close at the start of the last race. With Quintelier leading 10 points before Murray and 11 points to Stephens. And because of the seasons finale it was a double distance, double points race.

For a while Nomm was leading the qualifying. But in his last lap Kanchin took the pole position. Schwenke, Pagnan and Worth rounded out the top 5. Quintelier was one step closer to the championship after qualifying P7.

Champion, Sonny Kanchin in his Asbury motorsport Mazda MX-5

In the race the waiting game was being played. The top 7 drivers didn’t change positions until the first pitstops. Behind p7 there were some great battles going on in the beginning of the race. Tom Rathje and Nick Thissen were racing for p8 but lost touched with the leading group. In the AM class the battle was going on for p10 with a 4 car battle. Everyone was having some great racing in the early stages of the race.

Eroo Nomm decided to pit first and take a different strategy. He took a shorter pit first and went for a longer stint in the end. During the middle stint he was leading the race. But Kanchin managed to close the gap from 6 to 2 second. Taking his teammates Schwenke and Pagnan with him. After the second stop the Asbury train got in front of Nomm. Nomm now being on new tires on both sides got closer to Pagnan and Schwenke. Kanchin had a 2 second lead on them. Eroo Nomm had an incident with Pagnan trying to overtake him. He allowed Pagnan to pass again. But Schwenke and Kanchin where gone now. In the Senna S Nomm tried a second time. This time it was Pagnan hitting Nomm. Nomm took some damage and fell back to p6 at the line passed by Quintelier taking his second top 5 of the season.

Quintelier took the Am championship with his 5th place. “It’s amazing taking another 5th place this season in a long race like this. It was not as easy as it looked. Lorn and Kip where high in the MPI standings. So I needed every points I could get. I’m very happy to win this and be a Pro-driver next season.”

Lorn Murray in between Tom Rathje and Sonny Kanchin


The next season already starts the 17th of February and the registrations will be open as soon as next week!

Related Posts

SCO Road America 500: Thrustmaster Mivano From Start To Finish

iRacing VRS GT World Championship Thriller at Monza

Mivano Win Le Mans 24h As Coanda & P.R.T. Take The Titles

P.R.T. Takes The VRS GT Pro Series Race Win At Sebring  

Gathering of Tweakers: Le mans 195

iRacing Blancpain GT Championship 6h Of Bathurst: TTL Esports Tame The Mountain


Reply comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.